[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

KSP Recognizes Agencies and Officers for Impaired Driving Enforcement Efforts

(FRANKFORT, KY) -Law enforcement officers and agencies from across the state were recognized for outstanding achievement at the 2003 Governor's Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards ceremony held today at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Lexington.

Joe Whittle, general counsel to Lt. Gov. Stephen B. Pence, joined Kentucky State Police Commissioner Patrick N. Simpson in presenting awards to 197 officers and 73 law enforcement agencies for their extraordinary efforts in reducing impaired driving (see attached list). The award recipients are collectively responsible for approximately 30,000 impaired driving arrests during the past year.

"Impaired driving is still a critical problem, not only in Kentucky, but also throughout the United States," said Whittle. "Education and enforcement campaigns are vital components to keeping the public aware of the problems associated with drunk driving and also to help prevent it from happening. Your work at the local, state and national levels is to be commended. For the lives you've saved, we are most fortunate."

Divisional award winners recognized at the ceremony included:

Division I (1-10 Sworn Officers)

1st Place: Bellevue Police Dept.
2nd Place: Irvine Police Dept.
3rd Place: Johnson County Sheriff's Dept.
Top Officer: Officer Jesse Brewer, Bellevue Police Dept.

Division II (11-25 Sworn Officers)

1st Place: Pikeville Police Dept.
2nd Place: Woodford County Police Dept.
3rd Place: Oak Grove Police Dept.
Top Officer: Patrolman Phillip Reed, Pikeville Police Dept.

Division III (26-50 Sworn Officers)

1st Place: Winchester Police Dept.
2nd Place: Glasgow Police Dept.
3rd Place: Newport Police Dept.
Top Officer: Officer Ronnie Gross, Newport Police Dept.

Division IV (51-150 Sworn Officers)

1st Place: Bowling Green Police Dept.
2nd Place: Owensboro Police Dept.
3rd Place: Boone County Sheriff's Dept.
Top Officer: Officer Michael Fulks, Bowling Green Police Dept.

Division V (More Than 150 Sworn Officers)

1st Place: Lexington-Fayette Urban County Division of Police
2nd Place: Kentucky Vehicle Enforcement
3rd Place: Louisville Metro Police Dept.
Top Officer: Officer Cody Chapelle, Louisville Metro Police Dept.

Division VI (Kentucky State Police Posts)

1st Place: KSP Post 11-London
2nd Place: KSP Post 9-Pikeville
3rd Place: KSP Post 15-Columbia
Top Officer: Trooper David Cornett, KSP Post 11-London

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved