[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

Fifty-Eight Cadets Graduate from KSP Academy

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) - Fifty-eight new state troopers received diplomas during Kentucky State Police Academy graduation ceremonies held today in Frankfort.

With their addition to the force, the agency boosts its strength to a total of 966 sworn officers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

In addressing the graduates, KSP Deputy Commissioner Tim Hazlette stressed the important role played by law enforcement professionals in making the state a safer place to live. "As first responders, your job puts you on the front line of service in a wide variety of critical situations," he told the cadets. "Your contributions make a real difference in the lives of Kentucky's citizens on a daily basis. I commend each of you on an excellent career choice and I challenge you to continue the proud tradition of the Kentucky State Police in promoting public safety through service, integrity and professionalism."

Several members of the class earned special recognition including valedictorian Erik Kouns, of Grayson, Ky., salutatorian James Burton, of Elizabethtown, Ky. and overall fitness award winner Joel Huff, of Horse Cave, Ky. Arthur Baetzel, of Lillington, N.C., received the Ernie Bevins Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the Kentucky State Police Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, distinguishes themself as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their hometowns and their duty assignments:

Name Hometown Duty Assignment
Arthur Baetzel Lillington, N.C. Elizabethtown
Michael Barnett Ashland, Ky. Morehead
Jonathan Biven Horse Cave, Ky. Campbellsburg
Jason Bunch Williamsburg, Ky. Harlan
James Burton Elizabethtown, Ky. Elizabethtown
Bramlett Burton Columbia, Ky. Columbia
Nathan Cary Burkesville, Ky. Campbellsburg
Justin Cornett Hindman, Ky. Pikeville
Christopher Dials Lovely, Ky. Pikeville
Jonathan Downs Jeffersontown, Ky. Elizabethtown
Dallas B. Eubanks Corbin, Ky. Harlan
Raymond D. Foley Williamsburg, Ky. Columbia
Christopher Frazier Cornettsville, Ky. Harlan
Roger Gabbard Crystal, Ky. Morehead
Michael E. Garyantes II Fitchburg, Mass. Elizabethtown
Jeff Goens Kings Mountain, Ky. Campbellsburg
Derek Grant Campbellsville, Ky. Bowling Green
Brian Greene Middlesboro, Ky. Harlan
Jeremy Hamm Richmond, Ky. Morehead
James Earl Hensley Pathfork, Ky. Harlan
Christopher Hicks Prestonsburg, Ky Pikeville
John C. Hollon Jackson, Ky. Morehead
Joel A. Huff Horse Cave, Ky. Bowling Green
Cory Jessup Calvert City, Ky. Mayfield
Christopher Jones West Liberty, Ky. Morehead
Delzie Kelly Lynch, Ky. Dry Ridge
Jerry Knight II Greenville, Ky. Mayfield
Erik S. Kouns Grayson, Ky. Ashland
Jonathan Leonard Sidney, Ky. Pikeville
William Lindon West Liberty, Ky. Campsbellsburg
David T. Long Burkesville, Ky. Columbia
Chris Masters Richmond, Ky. Pikeville
 James McArthur Crofton, Ky. Henderson
Donnie McGraw West Liberty, Ky. Morehead
Nicholas Metcalf Sexton Creek, Ky. London
Charles Miller Leitchfield, Ky. Elizabethtown
Benjamin Moore III Lexington, Ky. Dry Ridge
 Donnie Moses Williamsburg, Ky. Columbia
Leslie Todd Moses Williamsburg, Ky. Campbellsburg
Bernis H. Napier III Versailles, Ky. Dry Ridge
Jason A. Palmer Lexington, Ky. Frankfort
Scottie Lee Pennington Berea, Ky. London
Clarence Patrick Putnam Greenville, Ky. Henderson
Mark C. Ridener Corbin, Ky. Morehead
Dave E. Roberts Somerset, Ky. Campbellsburg
Christopher W. Roberts London, Ky. Pikeville
Jennifer M. Sandlin Regina, Ky. Pikeville
Steven T. Silfies Ft. Campbell, Ky. Madisonville
John W. Sims Paducah, Ky. Mayfield
Melissa D. Stephens Harrodsburg, Ky. Morehead
Derek Ryan Sturgill Whitesburg, Ky. Pikeville
Randal Surber Partridge, Ky. Pikeville
Michael Viergutz Louisville, Ky. Campbellsburg
Daniel White Hardyville, Ky. Bowling Green
Brad Wiley Paintsville, Ky. Ashland
Donald R. Wilson, Jr. London, Ky. London
James Scott Winter Pineville, Ky. Campbellsburg
Michael Woodrum Bethelridge, Ky. Columbia

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved