[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

KSP Promotes 16 Officers; 21 Graduate from Sergeant's Leadership Academy

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) - The Kentucky State Police announced the promotion of 16 officers and recognized 21 graduates from its Sergeant's Leadership Academy today at a special ceremony held at the Central Forensic Laboratory in Frankfort.

Kentucky State Police Commissioner Patrick N. Simpson challenged the officers and graduates to put their new training and responsibilities to immediate use in service to the citizens of the commonwealth. "You represent a valuable investment in the future and we look forward to your contributions to the success of our goal of making Kentucky a safer place to live," he said.

Effective Sept. 16, Sgt. Dennis Benningfield, Sgt. Curtis O'Bannon and Sgt. Keith Peercy will be promoted to lieutenant.

Lt. Benningfield will transfer from Post 15 (Columbia) to Post 11 (London).

Lt. O'Bannon will transfer from Post 16 (Henderson) to Post 10 (Harlan).

Lt. Peercy will transfer from the Computer Technology Branch in Frankfort to the Criminal Identification & Records Branch in Frankfort.

The following troopers graduated from the Sergeant's Leadership Academy and were promoted to sergeant effective Sept. 16:

Trooper Name Previous Assignment New Assignment
 . . .
John Blanton Employee  Assistance Employee Assistance
Brian Bowling Post 8 (Morehead) Post 6 (Dry Ridge)
Jeffrey Burden Post 6 (Dry Ridge)  Post 7 (Richmond)
Rudd Kerr Records Branch (Frankfort) Records Branch (Frankfort)
Scott Miller Post 6 (Dry Ridge) Post 16 (Henderson)
James Shelton Post 14 (Ashland) Post 8 (Morehead)
Bob Shoultz Post 16 (Henderson) Post 16 (Henderson)
Steve Spurlock Post 9 (Pikeville) Post 3 (Bowling Green)
Darren Stapleton Post 9 (Pikeville) Post 2 (Madisonville)
Jonathan Tapp Post 4 (Elizabethtown) Records Branch (Frankfort)
Chad White Post 5 (Campbellsburg) Post 5 (Campbellsburg)
Patrick Williams Post 15 (Columbia) Post 15 (Columbia)

Other personnel graduating from the academy included: Tpr. Bobby Day (Special Operations), Tpr. Marshall Johnson (Post 12 Frankfort), Tpr. Tom Lilley (Post 6 Dry Ridge), Tpr. Randy McCarty (Post 9 Pikeville), Sgt. Kevin Pelphrey (Post 1 Mayfield), Tpr. Shawn Ramage (Post 1 Mayfield), Tpr. Fred Williams (Post 12 Frankfort) and Tpr.Tackett Wilson (Post 7 Richmond).

The Sergeant's Leadership Academy was developed to provide leadership training and build on the operational training currently provided to sergeants. Its 160 hours of training includes courses on subjects such as situational leadership, change, critical incident supervision, problem solving, conflict resolution, performance evaluation and counseling as well as ethical and legal issues facing supervisors, sexual harassment, organizational planning, media relations, hostage negotiations, domestic violence, terrorism and effective team building and morale.

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved