[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Capt. David Jude
(502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police announces Trooper of the Year, other honorees

Date of News Release: 05/17/2006

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) - The Kentucky State Police named McKee, Ky. resident Joie Peters 2005 Trooper of the Year during a special ceremony attended by Gov. Ernie Fletcher today at the Holiday Inn on Hurstborne Lane in Louisville. Forty-three other troopers and three civilians were also recognized for acts of meritorious service and achievement, valor, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty. One trooper was promoted to the rank of sergeant.

A 12-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, Det. Peters is assigned to KSP Post 7 in Richmond, which covers Madison, Clark, Estill, Lee, Jackson, Owsley, Garrard, Lincoln, Boyle, Mercer and Jessamine counties. Some of his accomplishments during the past year include:

"Det. Peters' investigative skills and his determined drive to get to the truth has resulted in many arrests of suspects who thought they got away with murder," said Capt. Greg Gay, commander of KSP Post 7. "The only people who can speak for the victims in these violent crimes are investigators and Det. Peters' abilities speak loud and clear. His efforts are a testament to his professionalism, hard work and dedication to this agency and the citizens of the commonwealth."

"Each day the brave men and women of the Kentucky State Police make extreme personal sacrifices and put themselves in harm's way in order to administer the laws of our society," said Gov. Fletcher. "In so doing, they have earned - and deserve - our respect and gratitude. The Kentucky State Police awards are a fitting tribute to these dedicated men and women and a reminder to all of us of the important role they play in our lives."

In praising the awards recipients, KSP Commissioner Miller said it was an appropriate time to recognize these officers since the ceremony is held during National Police Week, a time designed to focus public awareness on law enforcement and to honor the memory of officers who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty.

"By recognizing the actions of meritorious service, valor and bravery here today, we honor those who have gone before us by highlighting our own daily struggles to carry on their dedication to the pursuit of law and order," he said.

Ten troopers received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk, of clear and obvious peril and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty. These include:

Sgt. Henry T. Carmichael Post 3 - Bowling Green
Lt. Thomas P. Isbill Post 16 - Henderson
Sr. Trooper Mark T. Johnson Post 12 - Frankfort
Sr. Trooper Jonathan S. McChesney Post 3 - Bowling Green
Det. Paul D. Oldham Post 4 - Elizabethtown
Sr. Trooper Timothy A. Payne Post 16 - Henderson
Sr. Trooper Erik C. Salman Post 3 - Bowling Green
Sr. Trooper Christopher A. Spradlin Post 3 - Bowling Green
Sr. Trooper Gary F. Thornberry Post 3 - Bowling Green
Sr. Trooper Gary D. Travis East Drug Enforcement

Trooper's Medals, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances, were presented to:

Sr. Trooper Michael A. Dotson Post 16 - Henderson
Sgt. Raymond B. Engle Post 13 - Hazard
Det. Ezra S. Stout Post 4-Elizabethtown

The Guthrie Crowe Award, named after the first commissioner of the Kentucky State Police and bestowed on officers who sustain a severe wound or injury in the performance of duty, was presented to:

Trooper Andy K. Olson Post 15-Columbia

Nine troopers received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor for distinguishing themselves by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances:

Det. William B. Bowles Post 3- Bowling Green
Sr. Trooper Larry O. Davis Post 3 - Bowling Green
Sr. Trooper David E. Evans Post 3 - Bowling Green
Lt. David G. Lee Post 4 - Elizabethtown
Capt. Jeffrey C. Mayberry Special Operations
Sr. Trooper John K. Nokes Special Operations - Canine
Capt. William E. Payton Post 3 - Bowling Green
Sgt. Charles C. Thompson East Drug Enforcement
Sr. Trooper Matthew B. Travis Post 3 - Bowling Green

The KSP Citation for Meritorious Service was presented to the following four officers who distinguished themselves by an act of meritorious service of such exceptional character that it contributed to the success of a major KSP command or endeavor:

Det. Billy T. Correll Post 11-London
Trooper First Class Marcus W. Hopkins East Drug Enforcement
Det. James G. Pace East Drug Enforcement
Det. Gregory L. Wilson West Drug Enforcement

Twenty troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post or branch level. They include:

Det. Michael C. Williams Post 1 - Mayfield
Det. Benjamin H. Wolcott Post 2 - Madisonville
Det. John W. Clark Post 3 - Bowling Green
Trooper Rodger L. Waters Post 4 - Elizabethtown
Det. Todd M. Harwood Post 5 - Campbellsburg
Sr. Trooper Boyd D. Ison Post 6 - Dry Ridge
Det. Joie L. Peters Post 7 - Richmond
Sr. Trooper Toby K. Gardner Post 8 - Morehead
Det. Kevin J. Newsome Post 9 - Pikeville
Sr. Trooper Jason E. York Post 10 - Harlan
Det. Billy T. Correll Post 11 - London
Sr. Trooper Jerry M. Wise Post 12 - Frankfort
Det. Christopher W. Fugate Post 13 - Hazard
Trooper First Class Markael O. Padgett Post 14 - Ashland
Sr. Trooper Toby E. Young Post 15 - Columbia
Det. Matthew W. Conley Post 16 - Henderson
Sr. Trooper John K. Nokes Special Operations
Det. James G. Pace East Drug Enforcement
Det. Louis G. Weber West Drug Enforcement
Trooper First Class Roger D. Cowherd Administrative Division

Trooper Joe A. Adams, Jr., was promoted to sergeant. He will remain assigned to Post 1 at Mayfield.

The 2005 KSP Post Safe Driving Award, which recognizes the post with the highest average number of safe driving miles between assessable accidents, was presented to KSP Post 16 in Henderson.

The Commissioner's Award, presented to civilians who perform a life-saving act or a meritorious achievement that contributes to the success of a major KSP endeavor, was presented to Telecommunicator Rebecca A. Henry of KSP Post 6 in Dry Ridge.

The agency's highest civilian award, the KSP Citation for Meritorious Achievement, which is bestowed on individuals who perform an extraordinary act of service or heroism in direct support of an officer engaged in the official performance of duty, was presented to:

Mr. Warren Mitchell KSP Central Laboratory, Frankfort
Special Agent David Hayes ATF Louisville Office

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved