[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]


News Release

Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

KSP Trooper Among Finalists For National 'Trooper of the Year' Award

Date of News Release: 03/27/2013

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) ľKentucky State Police (KSP) Det. Daniel P. Morck was among four finalists for the International Chiefs of Police (IACP) 'Trooper of the Year' award.

Morck, a 10-year veteran of the KSP, was nominated for his efforts to combat child exploitation. Throughout 2012, he worked on numerous cases involving child pornography and suspected sexual predators. These investigations have resulted in charges against a number of individuals living and working in close proximity to children.

The other three troopers recognized were Officer Tyler Carlton of the California Highway Patrol, Trooper David W. Crank of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, and Trooper Timothy A. Strohmeyer of the Pennsylvania State Police.

Colonel Michael Edmonson, Louisiana State Police and the General Chair of the IACP State and Provincial Division along with Greg Brown, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Motorola Solutions recognized all four candidates for their accomplishments.

"These Troopers, through their deeds and actions, exemplify the very best in law enforcement" said Edmonson. "No matter the color of their uniforms, or the shape of their badges, these troopers represent the excellence in service that the public expects, and which we honor."

Officer Tyler Carlton of the California Highway Patrol won the Trooper of the Year honor.

KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer attended the award ceremony and was proud that Det. Morck was selected as a finalist.

"Through his everyday actions, Detective Morck continues to exemplify the high standards that our agency strives to maintain," said Brewer. "His diligence and persistence have taken numerous child predators off the streets."

Det. Morck served six years as a uniformed trooper and the past five years as a detective. In 2009, Det. Morck became the Post 2 Internet Crimes Against Children (ICAC) detective. He currently resides in Madisonville with his wife and three children.

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved