[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]


News Release

For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Sixty Troopers Graduate From Kentucky State Police Academy

Date of News Release: 10/26/2011

(FRANKFORT, KY) - The Kentucky State Police Academy presented diplomas to 60 new troopers at ceremonies held today in Frankfort. Their addition to the force brings the agency's strength to a total of 914 troopers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

"Kentuckians can go to bed at night feeling safe and secure because of our KSP, so it's critical that we maintain staffing levels," said Gov. Steven Beshear. "This is the fourth year in a row we've been able to put a new class of cadets out on our roads. I'm proud of that. Despite a horrible revenue situation, I've made it clear we must protect and preserve our highest priorities, and this is one of the highest."

"It's always an exciting day when we graduate new recruits," said Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rodney Brewer. "These 60 men and women have worked hard for 23 weeks to earn the rank of trooper. They epitomize our agency values of honor, professionalism and service above self. I applaud Governor Beshear's support of our agency for allowing us to continue the training process to provide the best protection for the citizens of rural Kentucky."

The new troopers started a 23-week training cycle on May 22, 2011 in a class that consisted of 81 cadets. Ten failed initial physical testing during the first two hours. Eleven more resigned during the weeks of constant mental and physical challenges that followed.

The training included more than 1,000 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigation, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.

"Although our attrition rate is high for recruits, the end result is a highly skilled trooper that joins an elite group of professional men and women that rivals any other agency in America," Brewer noted.

Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Jody Cash, of Murray, Ky., and salutatorian Michael Robichaud, of Lexington, Ky.

Kenna Burton, of Stanton, Ky., received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the KSP Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, shows distinction as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

Devan Cleaver, of Elizabethtown, Ky., and Brodie Jodry, of Jefferson, Ky., received the Commissioner's Commitment to Excellence Award, which is presented to the cadet who demonstrates leadership, the desire to get the job done and the determination to be the best every day.

Tyrus Robinson, of Berea, Ky., received the Overall Physical Training Award.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences:


Jody W. Cash, Murray, Ky.
David K. Dick, Mayfield, Ky.
Brian D. Hill, Jamestown, Ky.
Michael R. Robichaud, Lexington, Ky.


Joseph R. Bartolotti, Murray, Ky.
Jonathan T. Carlock, Bowling Green, Ky.
Nathan R. Craft, Hopkinsville, Ky.
Curtis L. Crick, Greenville, Ky.


Shae M. Foley, Drakesboro, Ky.


Barrett M. Brewer, LaGrange, Ky.
Adam S. Garrett, Lawrenceburg, Ky.
Brodie R. Jodry, Jefferson, Ky.
Charles T. Loudermilk, Cold Spring, Ky.
Zack A. Morris, Shelbyville, Ky.
James W. Phelps, Cincinnati, Ohio
David A. Staubach, Cincinnati, Ohio
Joshua L. Wilhoit, Independence, Ky.


Gary L. Cooper, Independence, Ky.
Jack M. Gabriel, Lexington, Ky.
Evan B. Guilfoyle, Edgewood, Ky.
Kenneth J. Leavell, Lancaster, Ky.


Charles E. Brandenburg, Berea, Ky.


Kenna M. Burton, Stanton, Ky.
Gary A. Hall, Berea, Ky.
Jonathan D. Moore, Richmond, Ky.
William B. Sparks, Maysville, Ky.


Heath L. Ayres, Lancaster, Ky.
Joshua B. Cox, Corbin, Ky.
Jeremy H. Giles, Columbia. Ky.
Nicholas T. Hale, Columbia, Ky.
Craig T. Hulsey, Elizabethtown, Ky.
Timothy S. Hurtt, Richmond, Ky.
Christopher D. Marcum, Lexington, Ky.
Stephen B. Mirus, Morehead, Ky.
Zachariah T. Pennington, Richmond, Ky.
Clifton T. Royal, Berea, Ky.
Bradley K. Watson, Flemingsburg, Ky.


Michael J. Brigmon, Pineville, Ky.
Brandon G. Burton, Partridge, Ky.
Brian W. Maupin, Livingston, Ky.
Russell D. Maynard, London, Ky.


Jason D. Bates, Whitesburg, Ky.
Michael P. Burton, Partridge, Ky.
Derrick J. Combs, Hazard, Ky.


Tye D. Chavies, Richmond, Ky.
Devan L. Cleaver, Elizabethtown, Ky.
Daniel C. Cook, Berea, Ky.
David W. Hobbs, Beattyville, Ky.
John B. Marcum, Berea, Ky.
Tyrus K. Robinson, Berea, Ky.
Joseph A. Vorbeck, Richmond, Ky.


Jeremy W. Baker, Greensburg, Ky.
Billy J. Begley, Lebanon, Ky.
Curt A. Donahoo, Owensboro, Ky.
James T. Gaither, Leitchfield, Ky.
Boston B. Hensley III, Horse Cave, Ky.
Ashcon Karbasi, Bowling Green, Ky.
Michael K. Lashley, Leitchfield, Ky.
Levi J. Scott, Burkesville, Ky.
Chase M. Willis, Columbia, Ky.

The new troopers will be supervised by a training officer for six to eight weeks after reporting to their post duty assignments.

KSP is currently recruiting for a new cadet class to begin in the fall of 2012. The final entrance exam for this class will be held Saturday, Jan. 28, 2012 at KSP headquarters, 919 Versailles Road in Frankfort, Ky. The application deadline for the test is Friday, Jan. 20, 2012.

Applicants must be 21 years of age, a U.S. citizen, in good health and possess a valid driver's license with no more than six driver demerit points. Applicants must also possess a minimum of 60 semester hours or an associate's degree from an accredited college or university or be a high school graduate with at least two years of either active military duty or experience as a full-time, sworn law enforcement officer.

Interested applicants should visit the KSP website at http://www.kentuckystatepolice.org/career.htm or to download an application. Anyone interested in obtaining more information after visiting the website can call 1-866-360-3165 from 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. (ET), Monday through Friday, or leave a message any other time.

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved