[Academy] [Cold Cases] [Commercial Vehicle Enforcement] [Commissioner's Office] [Concealed Deadly Weapons] [Contacting the KSP] [Core Values] [Crime & Traffic Information] [Fallen Trooper Memorial] [FAQs] [Forensic Laboratories] [Forms/Downloads] [Highway Safety] [History of the KSP] [Home Page] [Internet Crimes Against Children Task Force] [Kentucky's Most Wanted] [Links to Other Websites] [Missing Children] [News Releases] [Organization] [Post Locations] [Recruitment] [Sex Offender Registry] [Special Enforcement Troop] [Trooper Island]
[Return to Kentucky State Police Main Website]

For other Kentucky Government sites visit: [Kentucky.gov]



For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police Announce Trooper of the Year And Other Honors

Date of News Release: 05/08/2008

(Frankfort, KY) - The Kentucky State Police named Pikeville, Ky.-resident Edward R. Crum "2007 Trooper of the Year" at a ceremony held today at the University Club in Louisville. Thirty-nine other troopers and four private citizens were also recognized for acts of meritorious service and achievement, valor, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty.

An imge of Pikeville resident and Elkhorn City native Det. Edward Crum (center) received the 2007 Kentucky State Police Trooper of the Year Award from J. Michael Brown, secretary of the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet (right) and KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer (left) on May 8 in Louisville. Crum is assigned to KSP Post 9 in Pikeville. He is the son of Jim and Brenda Crum of Pike County, click here to enlarge

An 18-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, Detective Crum is assigned to KSP Post 9 in Pikeville, which covers Floyd, Johnson, Magoffin, Martin and Pike counties.

Capt. Jeff Caudill, commander of Post 9, described Crum as "an aggressive investigator and one of the most highly skilled accident reconstructionists in the state."

In 2007, in addition to his normal investigative workload, Crum conducted 100 collision reconstructions, assisted other KSP troopers with 82 collision investigations and assisted other agencies with 55 collision investigations. He also completed 67 downloads from vehicle electronic control modules to assist in collision investigations. As a member of KSP's Accident Reconstruction Team, he was activated three times.

Crum was also the lead investigator in a series of armed robberies in his post area and his persistence resulted in arrests that are now awaiting prosecution.

A native of Elkhorn City, Ky., Crum is a 1983 graduate of Elkhorn City High School and a 1985 graduate of Mayo State Community College in Paintsville. He is the son of Jim and Brenda Crum of Pike County.

Nine troopers received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk, of clear and obvious peril and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty:

Trooper William C. Braden, II--Post 2-Madisonville
Lt. Phillip Burnett, Jr.--Post 10-Harlan
Lt. David P. Hay --Post 12-Frankfort
Trooper George W. Howard--Post 10-Harlan
Trooper Joel A. Huff --Post 3-Bowling Green
Trooper Jeremy T. Lee--Post 10-Harlan
Trooper Dennis S. Mabry--Post 6-Dry Ridge
Sgt. Jesse L. Owens--Post 11-London
Capt. Thomas L. Porter--Criminal Identification & Records-Frankfort

Trooper's Medals, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances, were presented to:

Trooper Brian Bowman --Post 7-Richmond
Trooper Christopher M. Clark--Post 5-Campbellsburg
Sgt. James D. Heller--Post 5-Campbellsburg
Det, Jacky R. Hunt--West Drug Enforcement
Trooper Joshua D. Wilson--Post 11-London

Four troopers received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor for distinguishing themselves by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances:

Trooper Christopher G. Anderson --Post 1-Mayfield
Trooper Walter R. Cashen--Post 10-Harlan
Trooper Tommy Cromer--Post 11-London
Trooper Marcus E. Sallin--Post 1-Mayfield

The KSP Citation for Meritorious Service was presented to the following officer who distinguished himself by an act of meritorious service of such exceptional character that it contributed to the success of a major KSP command or endeavor:

Det. William H. Riley --Vehicle Investigations

Twenty-one troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post or branch level. They include:

Trooper Thomas M. Clifton --Post 1-Mayfield
Trooper Derek A. Smith--Post 2-Madisonville
Detective Scott A. Skaggs --Post 3-Bowling Green
Detective Jon Paul Taylor--Post 4-Elizabethtown
Trooper Seth B. Willis--Post 5-Campbellsburg
Trooper Christopher D. Steward--Post 6-Dry Ridge
Trooper Robert R. Purdy--Post 7-Richmond
Detective Christopher S. Fearin--Post 8-Morehead
Detective Edward R. Crum--Post 9-Pikeville
Trooper Walter S. Szczepan--Post 10-Harlan
Detective Michael Bowling Jr.--Post 11-London
Trooper First Class Ronald Turley--Post 12-Frankfort
Trooper Charles J. King--Post 13-Hazard
Trooper Craig Morella--Post 14-Ashland
Trooper Fredrick R. Cornett--Post 15-Columbia
Trooper Thomas M. Hampton, Jr.--Post 16-Henderson
Trooper First Class Ricky Underwood--Special Operations
Detective Marcus W. Hopkins--East Drug Enforcement
Detective Timothy N. Simpson--West Drug Enforcement
Trooper First Class Mack Rayburn--Administrative Division
Detective Christopher L. Frazier--Technical Services Division

The 2007 KSP Post Safe Driving Award, which recognizes the post with the highest average number of safe driving miles between assessable accidents, was presented to Post 2 in Madisonville. The post had a record of 1,273,861 miles between assessable accidents.

The Commissioner's Award, presented to civilians who perform a life-saving act or a meritorious achievement that contributes to the success of a major KSP endeavor, was presented to:

KSP Dispatch Shift Supervisor Gary Fraser, Post 1-Mayfield

The agency's highest civilian award, the KSP Citation for Meritorious Achievement, which is bestowed on individuals who perform an extraordinary act of service or heroism in direct support of an officer engaged in the official performance of duty, was presented to:

Gordon Miles, Spencer County Sherriff's Dept.
Mr. Jimmy E. Hammonds, Smithland, Ky.
Mr. Lawrence D. Warran, Smithland, Ky.

KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer praised all of the honorees. "Their actions made a real difference," he said. "They were called on to put their own lives in peril to save the lives of others and they did so without hesitation."

J. Michael Brown, secretary of the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet, called the Kentucky State Police the state's first line of domestic defense. "Their act of bravery occurs every morning when they put on their uniforms and walk out the door."

Contact Information for the Kentucky State Police

Kentucky State Police
919 Versailles Road | Frankfort, KY 40601

[ TOP ]

This page was last modified on:

About this site | Feedback | Privacy | Disclaimer | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2002-2013 Kentucky State Police, all rights reserved