News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Robert Purdy
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 7, Richmond
(859) 623-2404
Click here to e-mail Trooper Robert Purdy
George Rangel
Public Communications Manager
Bechtel Parsons Blue Grass
(859) 625-1291 - Work

April 8-14 is National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week

Date of News Release: 03/29/2012

(Richmond, KY) -- When violent storms and tornados ravaged 16 eastern Kentucky counties on the night of March 2, Kentucky State Police telecommunicators were some of the first to respond, handling urgent requests for assistance and sending emergency personnel and equipment to the stricken communities. Often working in excess of normal 12-hour shifts, they played vital roles in alerting law enforcement, fire, rescue and medical services, coordinating communications and directing help to where it was needed.

During the second week of April, Kentucky State Police telecommunications personnel at Richmond Post in Madison County will join more than 200,000 fellow communicators throughout the United States being recognized for their long hours and dedication to public safety.

"Across the state, our telecommunicators are just a phone call away for those seeking help in times of personal crisis or community disaster," says KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer. "They are on duty every day, every night, every weekend and every holiday, providing a calming voice to citizens in need and behind-the-scenes support to first responders on the street. Their efforts often make the difference between life and death. They have earned a well-deserved salute for their dedication and service to the Kentucky State Police and the citizens of the Commonwealth."

KSP employs 187 telecommunicators at its 16 posts throughout the state. In 2011, they handled 529,175 calls.

Richmond Post has 10 telecommunicators on staff who handle calls from Madison, Clark, Lee, Owsley, Jackson, Estill, Mercer, Jessamine, Lincoln, Boyle and Garrard counties. Last year, they responded to 22,537 calls.

The Richmond Post telecommunications team includes: Marty Broaddus, Connie Taylor, Jennifer McCracken, Darrell Melton, Nehemiah Wilkinson, Bobby Greene, Crystal Lamb, Bethany Casey, Rob Burton, and Dana Murphy.

Last Update: