News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
TFC Jay Thomas
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 1, Mayfield
(270) 856-3721
Click here to e-mail TFC Jay Thomas

"Operation R.A.I.D." detail scheduled for I-24 in McCracken County

Date of News Release: 11/20/2012

(Hickory, KY.) The Kentucky State Police and Paducah Police Department will team up for heavy saturation patrols on I-24, inside McCracken County on Wednesday, November 21st and Friday, November 23rd. This special detail is part of a new enforcement campaign by the Kentucky State Police, entitled "Operation R.A.I.D." (Remove Aggressive, Impaired and Distracted Drivers from Kentucky Roadways). This campaign is running for 6 months and will conclude on Tuesday, April 30, 2013.

This time of year is typically when more travelers take to the roadways due to the holiday seasons. With this in mind, there are greater chances of encountering persons exhibiting these types of driving behaviors. This high visibility campaign will focus enforcement efforts toward aggressive, impaired and distracted driving behavior, in order to save lives by reducing the number of fatal and incapacitating crashes, across the Commonwealth.

Saturation patrols and traffic safety checkpoints will be utilized in an effort to enhance driver awareness. Patrols will be increased in high-volume traffic areas and high-crash locations. For traffic safety checkpoint locations in your area, you may refer to the web site: KSP encourages the motoring public to always be aware of their driving behaviors. Anyone can report unsafe drivers to the Kentucky State Police toll-free, in Kentucky, at 1-800-222-5555. Callers may remain anonymous and should give a description of the vehicle, location, direction of travel, and license number and state if possible.

Post 1 serves the following counties: Ballard, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, McCracken, Marshall, and Trigg.

Last Update: