News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
TFC Jay Thomas
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 1, Mayfield
(270) 856-3721
Click here to e-mail TFC Jay Thomas

KSP Post 1 Trooper Receives Highway Safety Award

Date of News Release: 04/18/2012

Pictured from l. to r. Lt. Col. Leslie Gannon and Tpr. Nathan Clinkenbeard

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) - It's not often that law enforcement gets thanked for the work they've done for highway safety. In fact, usually it's the opposite. But today, several received much needed thanks and congratulations as Kentucky State Police honored eight members of their agency who went above and beyond the call of duty to make the highways safer. The "Excellence in Highway Safety" Awards are based upon the highest number of occupant protection, speed, driving under the influence (DUI), commercial motor vehicle (CMV) citations written and educational programs provided during 2011.

KSP Lt. Col. Leslie Gannon presented the awards in a ceremony held at KSP headquarters on April 17, 2012.

"Traffic enforcement blended with public education has a direct impact on the highways by removing dangerous drivers from the road and providing consistent traffic safety messaging to the public. The individuals receiving awards today are to be commended for the lives they have helped to save," says Gannon.

Tpr. Nathan Clinkenbeard is a three-year veteran from the Mayfield Post and received the Excellence in Highway Safety Award for highest number of Occupant Protection citations. Trooper Clinkenbeard wrote 604 seat belt citations in 2011.

Clinkenbeard resides in Trigg County and is the son of Marc and Donna Clinkenbeard of Cadiz, Ky. He is a graduate of Ashworth University in Athens, GA.

Mayfield Post Commander, Capt. Nathan Kent says Clinkenbeard's dedication to reducing deaths on Kentucky roadways is commendable.

"Last year, 51 percent of the deaths on Kentucky roadways were individuals who were not wearing seat belts" says Kent. "Nathan is working hard to reduce that number and educate motorists on the importance of wearing seat belts."

Lt. Col. Gannon thanked all the award recipients for their desire to save lives and make the Commonwealth safer for Kentuckians.

"We have a group of officers who go beyond what is normally expected of them and we want to show them how much we appreciate what they do. Their efforts have a direct impact on reducing deaths in Kentucky. They make a real contribution to keeping roadways safer throughout the state," she said.

Other recipients were Tpr. Jason Young (Speed Enforcement); Tpr. Ron Turley (Community Education); Ofr. Randy Ferrell (CMV Highest # of Safety Inspections); Insp. William Moore (Safety Inspections); and Ofr. Anthony Bersaglia (CMV Enforcement).

"The men and women who serve this agency every day by patrolling our roadways made an incredible impact in 2011. Statewide, KSP troopers and CVE officers wrote 75,993 speed citations, 39,961 seat belt/restraint citations, 32,260 CMV citations, made 7,404 DUI arrests and provided local communities with 3,130 educational programs pertaining to public safety. All of these officers are to be commended," added Gannon.

Citizens can contribute to highway safety by reporting erratic drivers to the Kentucky State Police toll-free at 1-800-222-5555. Callers will remain anonymous and should give a description of the vehicle, location, direction of travel and license number if possible.

Last Update: