News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Kendra Wilson
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 12, Frankfort
(502) 227-2221
Click here to e-mail Trooper Kendra Wilson

Mount Eden Man Killed on KY 55 in Spencer County

Date of News Release: 08/14/2012

(Post 12, Frankfort) -- The Kentucky State Police Frankfort Post is investigating a fatal collision in Spencer County. On Tuesday August 14, 2012 at approx., 6:17 AM, KSP Post 12 received a 911 call reporting an injury collision on KY-55 north of Taylorsville, KY.

A 2007 Ford F150 pickup operated by Bradley G. Byrd, age 35 of Taylorsville, was traveling north on KY-55. A 1996 Ford Mustang operated by Jason S. Thompson, age 36, Mount Eden, KY, was stopped northbound on KY-55, waiting to make a left turn onto KY-1633. The operator of the pickup failed to stop, striking the mustang in the rear. The Mustang was forced across a double yellow line and was struck by a 1992 gold Cadillac traveling southbound on KY-55. The Cadillac was being operated by Charles W. Stiles, age 61 of Taylorsville, KY. The operator of the Mustang, Jason S. Thompson was pronounced deceased at the scene by the Spencer County Coroner. Two children passengers in the Mustang and the operator of the Cadillac Charles W. Stiles were transported from the scene by Spencer County EMS. The operator of the pickup Bradley G. Byrd was injured but not transported.

At this stage of the investigation it is unknown if Charles W. Stiles seat belt was in use. All other drivers and passengers in the other two vehicles were unbelted.

KSP was assisted by Spencer County Coroner Offices, Spencer County Sheriff's Department, Taylorsville PD, Spencer County Fire and EMS. The collision remains under investigation by the KSP Post 12 Collision Reconstruction Team.

Kentucky State Police Post 12 provides police coverage for Anderson, Fayette, Franklin, Scott, Shelby, Spencer and Woodford counties.

Last Update: