News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

TPR Lloyd Cochran
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 11, London
(606) 878-6622
Click here to e-mail TPR Lloyd Cochran

KSP Post 11 Announces the 2011 Trooper and Detective of the Year

Date of News Release: 05/21/2012

(LONDON, KY.) The Kentucky State Police, Post 11 London, announces that Trooper Tony Dingess has been selected as the 2011 Post 11 Trooper of the Year and Detective Doug Boyd is the 2011 Post 11 Detective of the Year.

Selection of both officers was based on job performance evaluations from the 2011 calendar year.

Trooper Tony Dingess Detective Doug Boyd

Trooper Jason McCowan

Trooper Tony Dingess, an eight-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, was also selected as the 2011 Kentucky State Police statewide Trooper of the Year at an awards cerimony held today, Monday May 21, 2012 in Frankfort, KY.

During 2011, Tpr. Dingess issued 1,208 citations including 217 for speeding, 228 for seatbelt violations and 12 for child restraint violations. He made 315 criminal arrests and 27 DUI arrests.

In addition to his traffic enforcement efforts, Tpr. Dingess also worked on copper wire theft cases in Whitley County, successfully identifying a scrap metal year that was receiving the stolen wire. His work on burglary cases led to the discovery of an illegal pawn shop in Corbin. He also conducted multiple methamphetamine investigations, one of which resulted in a suspect facing federal charges.

A native of Corbin, Ky., Dingess is a 1994 graduate of Whitley Co. High School. He is the son of Roger and Sheila Dingess of Barbourville.

Also honored during the awards ceremony today was KSP Post 11 K-9 handler Trooper Jason McCowan for his role in saving the life of a storm victim during the March 2012 Tornado in Laurel County.

Last Update: