News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Shane Jacobs
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 10, Harlan
(606) 573-3131
Click here to e-mail Trooper Shane Jacobs

Harlan Trooper Receives Highway Safety Award

Date of News Release: 04/18/2012

Pictured from l. to r. Ltc. Col. Leslie Gannon and Tpr. Jason Young

(FRANKFORT, Ky.) - It's not often that law enforcement gets thanked for the work they've done for highway safety. In fact, usually it's the opposite. But today, several received much needed thanks and congratulations as Kentucky State Police honored eight members of their agency who went above and beyond the call of duty to make the highways safer. The "Excellence in Highway Safety" Awards are based upon the highest number of occupant protection, speed, driving under the influence (DUI), commercial motor vehicle (CMV) citations written and educational programs provided during 2011.

KSP Lt. Col. Leslie Gannon presented the awards in a ceremony held at KSP headquarters on April 17, 2012.

"Traffic enforcement blended with public education has a direct impact on the highways by removing dangerous drivers from the road and providing consistent traffic safety messaging to the public. The individuals receiving awards today are to be commended for the lives they have helped to save," says Gannon.

Tpr. Jason S. Young is a ten-year veteran from the Harlan Post and received the Excellence in Highway Safety Award for highest number of Speed Citations. Trooper Young wrote 4,025 speed citations in 2011.

Young resides in Harlan and is the son of Betty Jean and the late Essie Young of Pennington Gap, VA. He is a graduate of Mountain Empire Community College.

Harlan Post Commander, Capt. Leslie Smith says Young is an enthusiastic and dedicated officer who takes his work seriously.

"Trooper Young's efforts have directly impacted the reduction in crashes in the Post 10 area," says Smith. "I am proud of his efforts and congratulate him on this honor."

Lt. Col. Gannon thanked all the award recipients for their desire to save lives and make the Commonwealth safer for Kentuckians.

"We have a group of officers who go beyond what is normally expected of them and we want to show them how much we appreciate what they do. Their efforts have a direct impact on reducing deaths in Kentucky. They make a real contribution to keeping roadways safer throughout the state," she said.

Other recipients were Tpr. Nathan Clinkenbeard (Occupant Protection); Tpr. Ron Turley (Community Education); Ofr. Randy Ferrell (CMV Highest # of Safety Inspections); Insp. William Moore (Safety Inspections); and Ofr. Anthony Bersaglia (CMV Enforcement).

"The men and women who serve this agency every day by patrolling our roadways made an incredible impact in 2011. Statewide, KSP troopers and CVE officers wrote 75,993 speed citations, 39,961 seat belt/restraint citations, 32,260 CMV citations, made 7,404 DUI arrests and provided local communities with 3,130 educational programs pertaining to public safety. All of these officers are to be commended," added Gannon.

Citizens can contribute to highway safety by reporting erratic drivers to the Kentucky State Police toll-free at 1-800-222-5555. Callers will remain anonymous and should give a description of the vehicle, location, direction of travel and license number if possible.

Last Update: