News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Jeffrey Gregory
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 4, Elizabethtown
(270) 766-5078
Click here to e-mail Trooper Jeffrey Gregory

2011 September Activity for Post 4

Date of News Release: 10/04/2011

(Elizabethtown, Ky.) –- For the month of September Post 04 Troopers wrote a total of 1,410 citations. We removed 39 drunk drivers from Kentucky roadways and cited 521 speeders. 156 violators were cited for failure to wear a seatbelt. 6 citations were for failure to use a child restraint. We investigated 90 crashes and conducted 2,352 vehicle inspections. 663 motorists were given a courtesy notice in lieu of a traffic citation for minor traffic offenses. We assisted 195 motorists stranded on Kentucky roadways and answered a total of 1,260 citizen’s complaints. We were involved in 684 special details and conducted over 50 community programs which reached over 3,200 citizens of the Commonwealth. Our Detectives and Troopers opened over 59 criminal cases and made 178 criminal arrests which resulted in over 509 victim contacts. In total, Post 04 Troopers, Detectives, and Command Staff logged over 9,303 hours of service for the Kentucky citizens we served.

Through October 2, 2011 there have been 527 fatalities on Kentucky roadways. This number is 55 less than this period last year. 416 of those involved motor vehicles and 218 of those were not wearing a seatbelt. 41 of the 527 involved commercial vehicles. 50 crashes involved motorcycles and 27 of those were NOT wearing a helmet. 20 ATV riders were killed with 17 of those not wearing a helmet. There were 37 pedestrian fatalities, 2 bicycles, 1 scooter, and 1 horse-drawn vehicle fatality. In 84 of the 527 fatalities, alcohol was a factor.

The Kentucky State Police Post 04 in Elizabethtown covers 8 counties. They include: Hardin, Jefferson, Bullitt, Nelson, Meade, Breckinridge, Larue, and Grayson Counties.

Last Update: