News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
TFC Jay Thomas
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 1, Mayfield
(270) 856-3721
Click here to e-mail TFC Jay Thomas

Mayfield Trooper Receives Highway Safety Award

Date of News Release: 03/10/2011

Commissioner Brewer, Tpr. Nathan Clinkenbeard and Captain Kent

(FRANKFORT, KY) -- It's not often that law enforcement gets thanked for the work they've done for highway safety. In fact, usually it's the opposite. But today, several received much needed thanks and congratulations as Kentucky State Police honored eight members of their agency who went above and beyond the call of duty to make the highways safer. The "Excellence in Highway Safety" Awards are based upon the highest number of occupant protection, speed, driving under the influence (DUI), commercial motor vehicle (CMV) citations written and educational programs provided during 2010.

KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer presented the awards in a ceremony held at KSP headquarters on March 10, 2011.

"Traffic enforcement blended with public education has a direct impact on the highways by removing dangerous drivers from the road and providing consistent traffic safety messaging to the public. The individuals receiving awards today are to be commended for the lives they have helped to save," said Brewer.

Tpr. Nathan Clinkenbeard is a two-year veteran from the Mayfield Post and received the Excellence in Highway Safety Award for Occupant Protection. Trooper Clinkenbeard wrote 482 seat belt citations in 2010.

Clinkenbeard resides in Cadiz with his wife Trina and his two children, Hunter and Jaxson. He is a native of Hopkinsville and a graduate of Ashworth University.

Mayfield Post Commander, Capt. Nathan Kent says Clinkenbeard serves as a model unit for the agency and is proud of his efforts.

"It is untold how many serious injuries and even deaths that his enforcement efforts have spared," says Kent.

Commissioner Brewer thanked all the award recipients for their desire to save lives and make the Commonwealth safer for Kentuckians.

"We have a group of officers who go beyond what is normally expected of them and we want to show them how much we appreciate what they do. Their efforts have a direct impact on reducing deaths in Kentucky. They make a real contribution to keeping roadways safer throughout the state," he said.

Other recipients were Tpr. Jason S. Young (Speed); Tpr. Elliott Gollihue (Community Education); Tpr. Eddie Whitworth (DUI); Officer Luke Pridemore (CMV Inspections ); Inspector William Moore (CMV Inspections); and Inspector Wesley Garmon (CMV Out of Service Rate).

"The men and women who serve this agency every day by patrolling our roadways made an incredible impact in 2010. State-wide, KSP troopers and CVE officers wrote 75,297 speed citations, 33,967 seat belt/restraint citations, 36,819 CMV citations, made 7,030 DUI arrests and provided local communities with 2,303 educational programs pertaining to highway safety. All of these officers are to be commended," added Brewer.

Citizens can contribute to highway safety by reporting erratic drivers to the Kentucky State Police toll-free at 1-800-222-5555. Callers will remain anonymous and should give a description of the vehicle, location, direction of travel and license number if possible.

Last Update: