News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Shane Jacobs
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 10, Harlan
(606) 573-3131
Click here to e-mail Trooper Shane Jacobs

Post 10 Trooper received awards

Date of News Release: 08/15/2011

(Harlan, Ky.) -- On March 10, 2011 at 11am, an awards ceremony was held at the Kentucky State Police Headquarters to recognize the 2010 'Excellence in Highway Safety' recipients. These awards are based upon the highest numbers of occupant protection, speed, and driving under the influence (DUI) citations written in 2010. After being nominated by Captain Leslie Smith, from Post 10-Harlan, Trooper Jason Young received the Speed Enforcement Award statewide for writing 1,598 speeding citations.

On Tuesday, August 9, 2011, the 2011 Governor's Occupant Protection Enforcement Awards ceremony was held at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington, to recognize those law enforcement officers and agencies from across the state who have saved lives through their extraordinary efforts to increase safety belt and child restraint usage. This was based upon citations written from July 1, 2010-June 15, 2011. Captain Leslie Smith, from Post 10 Harlan, nominated Trooper Jason Young who had written 394 safety belt/child restraint citations during this period earning Trooper Young 3rd place overall statewide.

Last Update: