News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:

Trooper Brad Arterburn
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 5, Campbellsburg
Click here to e-mail Trooper Brad Arterburn

KSP Honors Campbellsburg Trooper for Excellence in Highway Safety

Date of News Release: 02/25/2010

An image of From Left to Right: Justice Cabinet Secretary J. Michael Brown, Capt. Dean Hayes, Trooper Rick Ellis, KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer, click here to enlarge this picture

(Frankfort, Ky.) -- Kentucky State Police honored six members of their agency for outstanding effort to make Kentucky roadways safer. The "Excellence in Highway Safety" awards are based upon the highest number of occupant protection, speed, driving under the influence (DUI) and commercial vehicle citations written in 2009.

Justice Cabinet Secretary J. Michael Brown and KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer presented the awards in a ceremony held at KSP headquarters on February 25, 2010.

"Traffic enforcement is paramount to this agency and has a direct impact on making highways safer for motorists. The individuals receiving awards today are to be commended for the lives they have helped to save," said Brewer.

Trooper Richard (Rick) Ellis is a 4-year veteran from the Campbellsburg Post and received two 'Excellence in Highway Safety' awards. He received one award for highest number of speed citations and the other for highest number of occupant protection citations. Trooper Ellis wrote 2,001 speed and 469 occupant protection citations in 2009.

Trooper Ellis and his wife Emily live in Shelbyville with their three children Abigail, Sydney and Austin.

Campbellsburg Post Commander, Capt. Dean Hayes, praised Trooper Ellis for his dedication to saving lives on Kentucky's roadways.

"Trooper Ellis is very deserving of these awards and works hard every day to ensure the safety of those traveling through the Commonwealth," said Hayes.

Commissioner Brewer thanked the award recipients for their desire to save lives and make the Commonwealth safer for Kentuckians.

"We have a group of officers who go beyond what is normally expected of them and we want to show them how much we appreciate what they do. Their efforts have a direct correlation with the reduction in highway deaths in Kentucky. They make a colossal contribution to keeping roadways safer throughout the state," he said.

"The men and women who serve this agency every day by patrolling our roadways made an incredible impact in 2009. State-wide, KSP troopers and CVE officers wrote 85,609 speed citations; 39,001 seat belt/restraint citations; 45,259 CMV citations; made 7,455 DUI arrests and provided local communities with 5,643 educational programs pertaining to highway safety. All of these officers are to be commended," added Brewer.

Citizens can contribute to highway safety by reporting erratic drivers to the Kentucky State Police toll-free at 1-800-222-5555 (in the state of Kentucky only, does not work out of state). Callers will remain anonymous and should give a description of the vehicle, location, direction of travel and license number if possible.

Last Update: