News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
TFC Stu Recke
Public Affairs Officer
Kentucky State Police
Post 2, Nortonville
(270) 676-3313
Click here to e-mail TFC Stu Recke

Post 2 Trooper Honored at Awards Ceremony

Date of News Release: 12/07/2009

An image of From left to right-Chuck Geveden, Director of the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety, Trooper Derek Smith and Lt. Governor Daniel Mongiardo, click here to enlarge this picture

(Madisonville, Ky.) -- On Wednesday, December 2, 2009, the Governor's Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards Ceremony was held at the Embassy Suites on Newtown Pike in Lexington. Law enforcement officers, agencies, and individuals from across the state were recognized for their outstanding achievements.

Trooper Derek Smith from the Kentucky State Police Post 2 Madisonville was recognized at this ceremony for his outstanding job performance. For the DUI enforcement period, which ran from October 1, 2008 through September 30, 2009, Trooper Smith arrested 80 impaired drivers.

This is the second year that Trooper Smith has received this prestigious award. Trooper Smith has also received an award for being named "Trooper of the Year" for the Madisonville Post in 2007 and 2008.

Trooper Smith is a 2001 graduate of Marshall County High School. He attended Paducah Community College and Murray State University. Trooper Smith began his career with the Kentucky State Police in July of 2005. He is currently assigned to Christian County.

Last Update: