For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky

News Release

Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Kentucky State Police Announce Employee Of The Year and Other Civilian Awards

Date of News Release: 10/10/2011

Bruce Olin (center), a Crestwood resident and Pikeville native, received the Kentucky State Police Employee of the Year Award 	on Oct. 10 from Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary J. Michael Brown (left) and KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer (right)

(FRANKFORT, KY) Twenty-five civilian employees were honored by the Kentucky State Police at a ceremony held today at the Capital Plaza Hotel in Frankfort.

Crestwood, Ky.- resident Bruce Olin was named 2011 KSP Civilian Employee of the Year. A 33-year veteran of the agency, Olin is a Program Coordinator with the Public Affairs Branch at KSP headquarters in Frankfort.

Olin spent 27-and-a-half years with the agency as a state trooper, retiring in 2005 from the Electronic Crimes Branch. He returned in 2008 as a civilian employee and now serves as state coordinator for the Drug Abuse Resistance Education (D.A.R.E.) program, a police officer-led series of classroom lessons that teach children from kindergarten through 12th grade how to resist peer pressure and live productive drug and violence-free lives. In this role, he is responsible for the statewide coordination of current D.A.R.E. curriculum and training for all D.A.R.E. instructors in the state. Currently, there are 70 federal, state and local law enforcement officers involved in the program. In the 2010-2011 school year, approximately 16,000 students in Kentucky received D.A.R.E. instruction and an additional 4,300 were exposed to the program.

During the past year, Olin was notified that funding for the D.A.R.E. program would be terminated. In response, he developed a contingency plan to keep the program in operation while new funding could be secured. Through his diligence and ability to communicate the effectiveness of the program, Olin convinced the original sponsor to reconsider and continue to fund the program. He also successfully prepared the program for reaccreditation review by the national D.A.R.E. America organization, which granted a four-year extension to the program in Kentucky.

In addition to his D.A.R.E. responsibilities, Olin is in charge of the Public Affairs Branch vehicle fleet, which includes trucks and trailers used to transport the agency's historic vehicles, drug education trailer, highway safety crash trailer, vehicle roll-over simulator and other equipment to trade shows and community events throughout the state.

Having earned his commercial driver's license, he also functions as an on-staff driver to deliver needed equipment to KSP's 16 post areas.

A native of Pikeville, Olin is a 1972 graduate of Millard High School and a 1984 graduate of Eastern Kentucky University. He is the son of the late Walter John Olin and the late Stella Gail Coleman Mays, both of Pikeville.

Other KSP civilian employees who received awards included:

Police Communications Support Award

Daniel Priddy, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 3-Bowling Green
Jimmy Kitchens, Police Telecommunications Shift Supervisor, Post 3-Bowling Green
Houston White, Police Telecommunicator II, Post 12-Frankfort
John Farler, Sr., Police Telecommunicator II, Post 3-Hazard

Clerical Support Service Award

Carolyn Coldiron, Administrative Specialist III, Post 10-Harlan
Lisa Miller, Administrative Specialist III, Supply Branch-Frankfort
Miki Sauer, Administrative Specialist III, Post 16-Henderson

Driver Testing Administrative Support Award

West Region: Harold Masden, Certified Driver Testing Administrator I
East Region: Terrence Stevenson, Certified Driver Testing Administrator I

Forensic Services Support Award

Laboratory Analyst: Susan Robinson, Forensic Scientist Specialist II, Central Laboratory Branch, Frankfort
Regional Laboratory Analyst: Shane Hardison, Forensic Scientist Specialist I, Western Laboratory Branch, Madisonville
Forensic Laboratory Supervisor: Katrina Featherston, Forensic Laboratory Supervisor, Central Laboratory Branch, Frankfort

Commercial Vehicle Support Award

Robert Boggs, Jr., Commercial Vehicle Inspector II, Region 4-London
Laura Monroe, Administrative Specialist III, Program Support Branch-Frankfort

Administrative Support Service Award

Jimmy Carey, Law Enforcement Training Instructor II, Academy Branch-Frankfort
Pam Hamrick, Internal Policy Analyst II, Financial & Grants Management Branch-Frankfort
Bruce Olin, Program Coordinator, Public Affairs Branch-Frankfort

Administrative Support Supervisor Award

Misty Moore, Program Coordinator, Criminal Identification & Records Branch-Frankfort

Scientific Support Service Award

Fred Crane, Forensic Latent Fingerprint Analyst III, AFIS, Criminal Identification & Records Branch-Frankfort

Computer Technology Technical Support Award

Ruth Sudduth, Administrative Specialist II, Electronic Crimes Branch-Frankfort

Records Technical Support Service Award

Steven Rodgers, Maintenance Superintendent II, Criminal Identification & Records Branch-Frankfort

Maintenance Support Service Award

Anthony Butler, Maintenance Worker II, Technical Services Division-Trooper Island

Communications Technical Support Award

Larry Yates, Network Analyst III, Communications & Computer Technologies Branch-Frankfort

Properties Management & Supply Technical Support Service Award

Jerry Ellis, Jr., Fleet Service Manager, Supply Branch-Frankfort

Operational Support Award

Gary Thomas, Jr., Criminal Intelligence Analyst I, Vehicle Investigations Branch

Last Update: