For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

KSP Announce Top Trooper, CVE Officer, Governor's Medal of Valor And Other Awards

Date of News Release: 05/05/2010

Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rodney Brewer (left) and Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary J. Michael Brown (right) presented Stamping Ground-resident Kenneth B. Russell (second from left) with the 2009 Trooper of the Year award and Richmond-resident Michael Simpson (second from right) with the 2009 Jason Cammack Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Officer of the Year award in Louisville on May 5, click here to enlarge

(Frankfort, Ky.) -- The Kentucky State Police announced the 2009 Trooper of the Year, the Commercial Vehicle Officer of the Year, two Governor's Medal of Valor recipients and 46 other awards for acts of bravery, life-saving, professionalism and dedication to duty today at the Holiday Inn Hurstborne Lane in Louisville.

Stamping Ground, Ky.-resident Kenneth B. Russell was named "2009 Trooper of the Year." A 27-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, Russell is assigned to KSP Post 12 in Frankfort.

According to Capt. Mike Crawford, commander of the post, Russell's enforcement of motor vehicle laws and traffic enforcement is outstanding. "He has reached a goal that few attain," he adds. "Russell maintains a balance of his traffic responsibilities while continuing to achieve success in criminal investigations."

Russell's activity during the past year reflects this balance with a total of 1,923 citations, including 1,668 for speed violations. He opened 23 criminal cases resulting in 81 arrests. Sixteen of the arrests were fugitives from justice he encountered during traffic stops. He also recovered 12 stolen vehicles.

A native of Frankfort, Ky., Russell is a 1973 graduate of Franklin Co. High School and a 1979 graduate of Eastern Kentucky University. He is the son of the late Kentucky State Police Major Kenneth Russell and Katherine Russell of Frankfort.

Richmond, Ky.-resident Michael Simpson was named the 2009 Jason Cammack Officer of the Year for the KSP Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division. A six-year veteran of the division, Simpson serves as a CVE Officer I in Region 3 based in Georgetown.

In 2009, Simpson maintained a high level of activity, leading the state in safety inspections and commercial citations. He carried out 2,020 vehicle safety inspections and wrote 1,905 commercial citations. His vehicle out-of-service rate was 59.7 percent and his driver out-of-service rate was 8.8 percent.

Simpson is a native of Brodhead, Ky. and a 1995 graduate of Rockcastle Co. High School in Mt. Vernon. He is the son of Sharon Simpson of Richmond and the late Jack Simpson of Crab Orchard, Ky.

Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rodney Brewer (left) and Justice and Public Safety Cabinet Secretary J. Michael Brown (right) presented Tpr. Timothy Mullins (second from left), of KSP Post 13 in Hazard, and retired Tpr. Richard Miller (second from right), of Hazard, with the Governor's Medal of Valor in Louisville on May 5, click here to enlarge

Tpr. Timothy Mullins, of Post 13 in Hazard, and retired Tpr. Richard Miller, of Hazard, received the Governor's Medal of Valor, the highest honor that can be bestowed upon an officer of the agency for conspicuous heroism in the line of duty under circumstances of extreme personal hazard. It is awarded only by order of the Governor of the Commonwealth.

Seven troopers received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk, of clear and obvious peril and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty:

Tpr. Michael Dennis --Post 2, Madisonville
Tpr. Jermaine Savage--Post 2, Madisonville
Tpr. Camileo Threatt --Post 2, Madisonville
Sgt. Charles Kelton --Post 5, Campbellsburg
Sgt. Howard Rice -- Post 5, Campbellsburg
Tpr. Howard Blanton --Post 7, Richmond
Lt. Frederick Williams, Jr. --Post 12, Frankfort

Trooper's Medals, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances, were presented to:

Tpr. First Class Fredrick Cornett --Post 15, Columbia
Det. Christopher Fugate--Drug Enforcement, Special Investigations Branch East
Tpr. Jerry Perkins, Jr.--Post 9, Pikeville
Tpr. James Smith --Post 11, London

Tpr. Matthew Foster, of Post 2 in Madisonville, received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor for distinguishing himself by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances.

Nineteen troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post, branch or division level. They include:

Trooper Brad Ramsey --Post 1-Mayfield
Detective Lonnie Kavanaugh--Post 2-Madisonville
Trooper Jonathan McChesney --Post 3-Bowling Green
Trooper Jonathan Downs--Post 4-Elizabethtown
Trooper Rick Ellis--Post 5-Campbellsburg
Trooper Chad Mills--Post 6-Dry Ridge
Detective Dustin Hon--Post 7-Richmond
Trooper Hector Alcala--Post 8-Morehead
Detective Billy J. Caudill--Post 9-Pikeville
Detective Jason York--Post 10-Harlan
Trooper Scottie Pennington.--Post 11-London
Trooper Brad Russell--Post 12-Frankfort
Detective Ben Campbell--Post 13-Hazard
Detective Mike Murriell--Post 14-Ashland
Trooper First Class Dewayne Holder--Post 15-Columbia
Trooper Allen Lacy--Post 16-Henderson
Detective Randy Hunter--East Drug Enforcement
Detective Tommy Johnson--West Drug Enforcement
Trooper First Class Craig Sutton--Technical Services Division

Seven CVE officers were named Officer of the Year at the region level, including:

CVE Officer I Steven Chris Glenn --Region 1
CVE Officer I Glenn Perry --Region 2
CVE Officer I Michael Simpson --Region 3
CVE Officer I Mike Hamblin --Region 4
CVE Officer I Anthony Blakemore--Region 5
CVE Officer I Anthony Bersaglia --Region 6
CVE Officer I Tristan Truesdell --Programs Branch

The 2009 KSP Safe Driving Award, which recognizes the post with the highest average number of safe driving miles between assessable accidents, was presented to Post 5 in Campbellsburg. The post had a record of 1,041,915 miles with only one assessable collision.

The KSP Commissioner's Award, which is bestowed on civilians who distinguish themselves by performing a life-saving act or a meritorious achievement that significantly contributed to the success of a major Kentucky State Police endeavor, was presented to:

John Bradley, Willisburg, Ky.
Deputy John Couch, Perry Co. Sheriff's Office
Lt. Russell Dishner, Hazard City Police Dept.
Det. Robert Duffy, Ky. Attorney General's Office
Officer Kenny Terry, DESI East Task Force 16

Pamela J. Gardner, of Murray, Ky. and Jeffrey L. White, of Hazel, Ky., received the KSP Citation for Meritorious Achievement, the agency's highest civilian award bestowed upon individuals who performed an extraordinary act of service or heroism in direct support of an officer of the agency engaged in the official performance of duty. The act resulted in the saving of human life, prevented grievous bodily harm to others or halted a major crime in progress and was done voluntarily and at great personal risk or sacrifice.

KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer praised all of the honorees. "It is a natural reaction to run away from danger. Law enforcement officers are trained to run toward danger and they do so without hesitation," he said. "We salute all those who have chosen a life that makes a difference."

Last Update: