News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

KSP Announce Top Trooper, CVE Officer And Other Awards

Date of Photo Release: 05/20/2009

An image of Greensburg, Ky.-resident Trooper Andy K. Olson (second from left) received the 2008 Kentucky State Police Trooper of the Year Award and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Officer Larry Farris (third from left), a resident of Maysville, Ky., received the 2008 Jason Cammack Officer of the Year Award from J. Michael Brown, secretary of the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet (right) and KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer (left) on May 20 in Frankfort, click this image to enlarge in a new window

(Frankfort, Ky.) -- The Kentucky State Police announced the Trooper of the Year, the Commercial Vehicle Officer of the Year and 70 other awards for acts of meritorious service, achievement, valor, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty today at the Capital Plaza Hotel in Frankfort.

An image of Trooper Andy K. Olson, click here to download the high resolution photo in a new windowGreensburg, Ky. resident Andy K. Olson was named "2008 Trooper of the Year" A five-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, Olson is assigned to KSP Post 15 in Columbia.

According to Capt. Greg Baird, commander of Post 15, Trooper Olson's "investigative tenacity" was a significant factor in the successful conclusion of two major felony cases during 2008. One involved the repeated rape of two juveniles. After persistent and exhaustive effort, Olson identified and arrested two adult perpetrators. Both were convicted and received multiple year sentences.

In another case, Olson's perseverance and attention to detail led to multiple arrests resulting in the termination of a major cocaine trafficking and burglary ring.

A native of Campbellsville, Ky., Olson is a 2000 graduate of Taylor Co. High School and a 2004 graduate of Lindsey Wilson College in Adair County. He is the son of Bill and Leitha Olson of Campbellsville.

An image of Officer Larry Farris, click here to download the high resolution photo in a new windowMaysville, Ky. resident Larry Farris was named the 2008 Jason Cammack Officer of the Year for the KSP Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division. A three-year veteran of the division, Farris serves as a CVE Officer I in Region 5 based in Morehead.

In 2008, Farris carried out 640 vehicle safety inspections which unveiled 841 safety violations. He wrote 624 commercial citations (310 for speeding) and 402 non-commercial citations for a total of 1,026. He also investigated 21 vehicle crashes of which 12 involved Class A trucks with three fatalities.

A former Maysville police officer, Farris is a 1991 graduate of Lewis Co. High School in Vanceburg. He is the son of Larry and Diane Farris of Maysville.

Eleven troopers received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk, of clear and obvious peril and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty:

Trooper John E. Adams --Post 15, Columbia
Sgt. Lonnie W. Bell --Post 16, Henderson
Trooper Willard Scott Bunch --Post 11, London
Trooper Brett A. Coomes --Post 3, Bowling Green
Trooper Jerry M. Knight --Post 2, Madisonville
Detective Scott A. Lengle -- Post 6, Dry Ridge
Trooper David T. Long - Post 15, Columbia
Trooper Gary Martin (retired) --Post 11, London
Trooper Timothye Kyle Moffett --Special Operations Branch
Sgt. Howard R. Rice -- Post 5, Campbellsburg
Detective Jeffery L. Vincent - Vehicle Investigations

Trooper's Medals, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances, were presented to:

Trooper James K. Burton -- Post 4, Elizabethtown
Trooper Donnie R. Moses -- Post 15, Columbia
Trooper Everett E. Whitaker -- Post 13, Hazard
Trooper Richard W. Wright - Post 1, Mayfield

Twenty-three troopers received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor for distinguishing themselves by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances:

Detective George Atwood -- Post 15, Columbia
Trooper Johnathan R. Boyd -- Post 15, Columbia
Trooper Norman Chaffins, Jr. -- Post 4, Elizabethtown
Trooper First Class Mark L. Combs -- Special Operations
Detective Russell L. Decker-- Post 15, Columbia
Trooper Barry J. Eaton -- Special Operations (Received two awards for separate incidents.)
Sgt. J.W. Gibson -- Post 14, Ashland
Lt. Brandon Hammers --Aircraft Branch
Detective Scott Hammonds - West Drug Enforcement
Sgt. Kevin Hunt -- Post 15, Columbia
Trooper Jeremy S. Johnson --Post 15 Columbia
Sgt. Chris Knifley -- Special Operations
Sgt. Kevin S. Minor --Aircraft Branch
Trooper Jon S. Parks --Post 7, Richmond
Trooper Seth C. Payne -- Special Operations
Trooper William E. Petry--Post 9, Pikeville
Trooper James W. Richard --Post 15, Columbia
Trooper William L. Shuffett, II --Special Operations
Trooper David L. Smith --Post 15, Columbia
Sgt. Bobby Sullivan (retired) --Post 15, Columbia
Lt. Jeffrey Suratt --Post 15, Columbia
Detective Tony Wells (retired) -- Post 15, Columbia
Sgt. Rob Winsett (retired) - Post 15, Columbia

Twenty-one troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post, branch or division level. They include:

Trooper Kyle J. Nall --Post 1-Mayfield
Trooper Derek A. Smith--Post 2-Madisonville
Trooper Charles D. White --Post 3-Bowling Green
Detective Karl Scott McMichael--Post 4-Elizabethtown
Detective Dave E. Roberts--Post 5-Campbellsburg
Detective Kevin D. Flick--Post 6-Dry Ridge
Detective Chris Short--Post 7-Richmond
Trooper Samuel M. Hunt--Post 8-Morehead
Detective Benjamin C. Cramer--Post 9-Pikeville
Trooper Jason S. Young--Post 10-Harlan
Trooper Clyde A. Dingess.--Post 11-London
Trooper Trevor P. Harris--Post 12-Frankfort
Detective Clayton Stamper, Jr.--Post 13-Hazard
Trooper Andy K. Olson--Post 15-Columbia
Trooper Thomas M. Hampton, Jr.--Post 16-Henderson
Trooper First Class Chad E. Carroll--Special Operations
Trooper Anthony Janutolo--East Drug Enforcement
Detective Tommy L. Johnson--West Drug Enforcement
Trooper Mack Rayburn--Administrative Division
Trooper First Class Craig Sutton--Technical Services Division


Seven CVE officers were named Officer of the Year at the region level. They include:

CVE Officer I Steven Chris Glenn --Region 1
CVE Officer I Roy M. Murley --Region 2
CVE Officer I Michael M. Rittenhouse --Region 3
CVE Officer I Travis J. Rogers --Region 4
CVE Officer I Larry Farris--Region 5
CVE Officer I Anthony Bersaglia --Region 6
CVE Officer I Delmer Hall --Programs Branch

The 2008 KSP Safe Driving Award, which recognizes the post with the highest average number of safe driving miles between assessable accidents, was presented to Post 10 in Harlan. The post had a record of 1 million 139,451 miles with zero assessable accidents.

The agency's highest civilian award, the KSP Citation for Meritorious Achievement, which is bestowed on individuals who perform an extraordinary act of service or heroism in direct support of an officer engaged in the official performance of duty, was presented to Deputy Jim Hamilton, Carroll Co. Sheriff's Office and Deputy Jim Guffey, Clinton Co. Sheriff's Office.

KSP Commissioner Rodney Brewer praised all of the honorees. "It is a natural reaction to run away from danger. Law enforcement officers are trained to run toward danger and they do so without hesitation," he said. "We salute all those who have chosen a life that makes a difference."

Last Update: