News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

KSP Troopers And Five Civilians To Be Honored On Wednesday, May 18 At KSP Awards Ceremony

Date of Release: 05/18/05

(FRANKFORT, Ky.)--- Lt. Gov. Stephen B. Pence joined Kentucky State Police Commissioner Mark L. Miller in naming Viper, Ky.-resident John L. Pratt "2004 Trooper of the Year" at a special ceremony held today at the Hyatt Regency in Lexington. Forty other troopers and four private citizens were also recognized for acts of meritorious service and achievement, valor, bravery, life-saving acts, professionalism and dedication to duty. One sergeant was promoted to lieutenant and two lieutenants were promoted to captain.

Image of Trooper Pratt with Commissioner Mark Miller and Lt. Gov. Stephen PenceA 20-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, Detective Pratt is assigned to KSP Post 13 in Hazard, which covers Breathitt, Knott, Leslie, Letcher and Perry counties. In 2004, he opened 138 cases and made 110 criminal arrests. In one of these cases, his investigative work resulted in the location and recovery of $1.7 million of stolen property.

In 1990, Pratt was a recipient of the Guthrie Crowe Award, named after the first commissioner of the Kentucky State Police and bestowed on officers who sustain a severe wound or injury in the performance of duty. In 1997, he was selected as Detective of the Year at Post 13.

For the past 10 years, Pratt has been elected by his fellow officers to serve as the Post 13 representative on the Trooper's Advisory Board, the KSP Mutual Assistance Fund Board and the Kentucky State Police Professional Association Board. He was also instrumental in developing the post's "Shop With A Cop" program, which provides Christmas gifts to underprivileged children and their families.

Three troopers received the KSP Citation for Bravery, an honor bestowed on officers of the agency who perform acts of bravery, without regard for personal risk, of clear and obvious peril and clearly above and beyond the call or risk of ordinary duty:

  • Sgt. William J. Barnes , Human Resources
  • Trooper Jaman M. Childers, Post 3-Bowling Green
  • Trooper Todd Holder, Post 3-Bowling Green

Trooper's Medals, awarded to officers who perform life-saving acts under extraordinary circumstances, were presented to:

  • Sgt. Bobby Day, Special Operations-SRT
  • Trooper Terry L. Brewer, Post 13-Hazard
  • Trooper Ronald E. Long, II, Post 13-Hazard
  • Trooper Donald L. Holliday, Post 13-Hazard
  • Trooper Christopher Frazier, Post 10-Harlan
  • Trooper Brian A. Greene,Post 10-Harlan
  • Trooper Kelley S. Farris, Post 10-Harlan
  • Trooper James A. Mitchell, Post 5-Campbellsburg
  • Trooper Scott T. Davenport, Post 6-Dry Ridge
  • Trooper Gerald A. Fieger, Jr, Post 6-Dry Ridge.

The Guthrie Crowe Award, named after the first commissioner of the Kentucky State Police and bestowed on officers who sustain a severe wound or injury in the performance of duty, was presented to:

  • Detective Ricky J. Conn, Post 9-Pikeville
  • Trooper Todd Holder, Post 3-Bowling Green
  • Trooper Walker R. Judd, Vehicle Investigation Branch

Three troopers received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor for distinguishing themselves by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances:

  • Trooper Edwin D. Botkin, Jr., Post 7-Richmond
  • Trooper Richard L. Miller, Special Operations-Canine
  • Trooper David W. Watkins, Post 9-Pikeville

The KSP Citation for Meritorious Service was presented to the following four officers who distinguished themselves by an act of meritorious service of such exceptional character that it contributed to the success of a major KSP command or endeavor:

  • Capt. Deron E. Berthold, Legislative Security
  • Det. James R. Hunter, East Drug Enforcement
  • Det. Thomas W. Underwood, East Drug Enforcement
  • Det. Jasper D. White, East Drug Enforcement

Twenty troopers were named Trooper of the Year at the post or branch level. They include:

  • Trooper Jerry P. Jones , Post 1-Mayfield
  • Trooper Camileo D. Threatt, Post 2-Madisonville
  • Trooper Matthew B. Travis, Post 3-Bowling Green
  • Trooper Dennis Oldham, Post 4-Elizabethtown
  • Trooper Jonathan M. Biven, Post 5-Campbellsburg
  • Detective Bret A. Kirkland, Post 6-Dry Ridge
  • Detective Christopher J. Crockett, Post 7-Richmond
  • Detective Michael A. Wolfe, Post 8-Morehead
  • Detective Ricky J. Conn, Post 9-Pikeville
  • Trooper Jimmy W. Young II, Post 10-Harlan
  • Trooper Don C. Sivils, Post 11-London
  • Detective Shawn E. Darby, Post 12-Frankfort
  • Detective John L. Pratt , Post 13-Hazard
  • Detective Robert L. Garnes, Post 14-Ashland
  • Detective Scott R. Hammond, Post 15-Columbia
  • Trooper Sean L. McKinney, Post 16-Henderson
  • Trooper Thomas A. Pyzik, Special Operations
  • Detective James R. Hunter, East Drug Enforcement
  • Detective Timothy N. Simpson , West Drug Enforcement
  • Trooper Todd Evans, Administrative Division

Sgt. Tanya Clark, of the KSP Criminal Identification and Records Branch, was promoted to lieutenant. Lt. Bradley Pratt was promoted to captain and assigned to the Properties and Supply Branch as commander. Lt. Kerry Sims was promoted to captain and named commander of KSP Post 16 in Henderson.

The 2004 KSP Post Safe Driving Award, which recognizes the post with the highest average number of safe driving miles between assessable accidents, was presented to Post 2 in Madisonville.

The Commissioner's Award, presented to civilians who perform a life-saving act or a meritorious achievement that contributes to the success of a major KSP endeavor, was presented to:
Officer Toby Lewis, Shelbyville Police Dept.

The agency's highest civilian award, the KSP Citation for Meritorious Achievement, which is bestowed on individuals who perform an extraordinary act of service or heroism in direct support of an officer engaged in the official performance of duty, was presented to:

  • Don Parker, Pikeville, Ky.
  • Derek L. Browning, Falmouth, Ky.
  • Anthony L. Green, Mt. Olivet, Ky.

The KSP awards ceremony is held annually during National Police Week.

Last Update: