News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

Fifty-One Cadets Graduate From Kentucky State Police Academy

(FRANKFORT, Ky.)-Fifty-one new state troopers will receive diplomas during Kentucky State Police Academy graduation ceremonies tomorrow in Frankfort. With their addition to the force, the agency boosts its strength to a total of 986 sworn officers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

"Since beginning their training last January, these cadets have been challenged both physically and mentally on a daily basis to earn the right to wear the gray uniform and distinctive hat of the Kentucky State Police Trooper," said KSP Commissioner Mark L. Miller. "They completed more than 300 hours of classroom and field study and achieved the highest level of physical fitness through a rigorous program of conditioning. I commend each of them for their efforts and I challenge each one to continue the proud tradition of the Kentucky State Police in promoting public safety through service, integrity and professionalism."

Several members of the class earned special recognition including valedictorian Lyle M. Reid, of Manchester, Ky., salutatorian Jonathan K. McGehee, of Bowling Green, Ky. and overall fitness award winner Brian C. McKinney, of Morgantown, Ky. Kendra L. Wilson, of Eubank, Ky., received the Ernie Bivins Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the Kentucky State Police Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, distinguishes themself as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their hometowns and their duty assignments:

Timothy W. Adams Cynthiana Bowling Green
David N. Archer Paducah Mayfield
David C. Berry Elizabethtown Elizabethtown
Howard P. Blanton Stanford Richmond
Johnathan R. Boyd Bowling Green Columbia
Ricky M. Brooks Center; Columbia
Benjamin N. Campbell Hazard Morehead
Billy J. Caudill Langley Pikeville
Brett A. Coomes Bowling Green Henderson
Douglas J. Dillow Cadiz Madisonville
Clyde A. Dingess Williamsburg London
Jonathan H. Dixon Prestonsburg Frankfort
Michael S. Dubree Tompkinsville Morehead
Sonny Dunaway Beattyville Richmond
Matthew J. Fugate Emmalena Pikeville
C. Aaron Gabhart Elizabethtown Elizabethtown
James H. Goble Inez Ashland
Michael G. Gonterman Campbellsburg Campbellsburg
Steven G. Goodale Louisville Campbellsburg
James B. Gross Jackson Richmond
Kennith R. Hamilton Betsy Layne Pikeville
Thomas M. Hampton Hanson Henderson
Wendell D. Higginbotham Parker's Lake Dry Ridge
Ashley J. Hundley McKee Morehead
Jason E. Joseph Florence Dry Ridge
Albert R. LaGrange Richmond Frankfort
Tyson E. Lawson Siler Columbia
Scott A. Lengle Cincinnati, Ohio Dry Ridge
Jason A. Maguire Louisville Frankfort
Jonathan K. McGehee Bowling Green Bowling Green
Brian C. McKinney Morgantown Henderson
Jason M. Merlo Pikeville Pikeville
Elisha L. Morris Georgetown Frankfort
Dean A. Patterson Mayfield Mayfield
Trevor H. Pervine Murray Mayfield
Billy C. Pollard Bulan Morehead
Bradley P. Ramsey Madisonville Mayfield
Lyle M. Reid Manchester London
Nicholas J. Rice Yerington, Nev. Madisonville
Donnie L. Richmond Pineknot Columbia
Mark E. Sallin Murray Mayfield
Steven E. Smallwood Louisville Elizabethtown
Justin T. Spears Clarkson Elizabethtown
James V. Stratton Prestonsburg Pikeville
Frank C. Taylor Elizabethtown Bowling Green
Michael B. Webb Shelbyville Campbellsburg
Marcus T. Williams Evarts Frankfort
Seth B. Willis Milton Campbellsburg
Joshua D. Wilson London Pikeville
Kendra L. Wilson Eubank Columbia
Rodney G. Wren Danville Richmond

Last Update: