News Release

For Other Kentucky Government Sites Visit:
Click here to visit, the Official State Government Site for the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Media / For More Information Contact:
Sergeant Michael B. Webb
Kentucky State Police
Public Affairs Branch
Office (502) 782-1780

"Trooper Lee Huffman Memorial Highway"
Kentucky Highway 218 Dedicated in Metcalfe County

(COLUMBIA, KY) - On October 16, 2003 the Columbia State Police Post conducted a Memorial Highway dedication at the Metcalfe County Courthouse Annex to honor fallen Trooper Lee Huffman, a Metcalfe County native.

Trooper Lee Huffman was killed while working an automobile accident in Hardin County, Kentucky on May 19, 1953.   He was assigned to Post 4, Elizabethtown.

Trooper Huffman's death occurred while he was carrying out his sworn duties as a Kentucky State Police Officer to serve and protect the people of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

On March 20, 2002 Governor Patton signed Senate Bill 18 which allows the Kentucky state police commissioner to request a state road, or segment of a state road, to be named in memory and honor of troopers who have died in the line of duty. Since 1948, 23 troopers have given the supreme sacrifice to insure the safety of Kentuckians.

Senator David Karem was the primary sponsor Senate Bill 18, which passed unanimously in both chambers of the Kentucky General Assembly

"This as well as the 22 others that will be erected across the Commonwealth, serve as a permanent reminder to all of us of the courage and commitment Kentucky State Troopers face every day," remarked Commissioner Simpson.

Additional signs will be unveiled over the next few months honoring all 23 Kentucky State Police officers killed in the line of duty. Notification will be provided when each sign is erected. Below is a list of 13 of the 23 locations. Locations for ten fallen troopers are pending.

Officer Name County Highway Milepoint Numbers
Trooper Harold J. Toll Anderson County US 127 BYPASS 6.175 - 11.120
Trooper Lee T. Huffman Metcalfe County KY 218 Entire County 0.000 - 3.451
Trooper William E. Tevis Pulaski County KY 461 Entire County 0.000 - 8.441
Trooper Delano G. Powell Henry County US 42 Jefferson through Henry Counties
Trooper Mack E. Brady Henderson County KY 425 Bypass Entire Roadway 0.00 - 6.201
Trooper Walter O. Thurtell Logan County KY 431 1.485 - 14.887
Lieutenant William C. Smith Warren County US-31W 9.000 - 10.567
Trooper John Hutchison Wayne County KY 90 Entire County 0.000 - 25.235

Trooper Bobby McCoun Anderson County US 127 1.940 - 6.175
Trooper William F. Pickard Larue County KY 61 8.031 - 13.603
Trooper Clinton E. Cunningham Madison County KY 1986 Entire Roadway 0.000 - 10.464
Trooper Edward R. Harris Hardin County KY 3005 (Ring Road) Entire Roadway 0.000 - 8.674
Trooper Johnny Edrington Taylor County US 68 Entire County 0.000 - 13.531

Last Update: